High School Golfer Misses 4th State Title Due To Score Card Error
No high school golfer, male or female, has ever won the Oregon state title four years in a row and that streak will continue now that Churchill High School senior golfer Laura Inglis accidentally signed a scorecard showing her winning score of 69 as a 68. In line with USGA rules, she was disqualified.
Inglis signed card showed that she made a par on the 18th hole, when she actually made a bogey, her lone bogey of the round. She was in the scoring area when someone mentioned that her score had been posted as a 68.
Inglis made a beeline inside, got her scorecard and reported the mistake. OSAA officials, following the USGA rules the tournament was played under, disqualified her. Inglis card was kept by her playing partner who missed her lone bogey of the day when making notation. Despite not having kept her own card by USGA rules any golfer is responsible for checking the score before signing the card and handing it in.
The state title went to freshman Madison Odiorne of Bend’s Summit High School, which won the team championship. A reportedly distraught Inglis left the course without talking to the media.
“It doesn’t really feel like a win, because I know Caroline really won the whole thing,” Odiorne told The Oregonian.